Access Keys:

Skip main menu

The Allerdale Community Development Team work with residents and community groups based in Allerdale to deliver community engagement activities that help you speak up about the issues that matter to you. Our community engagement work can include a variety of activities from consulting the community about something the council is thinking about doing, to gaining information or support for a local community project or council initiative, or seeking public opinion over the design and delivery of local services.

We regularly hold community engagement activities and events across the district to respond to community issues or concerns and to enable communities to influence local decision making.

We work alongside the 16 County Councillors in Allerdale which make up the Allerdale Local Committee, the council's local decision making body which serves to improve local services and the quality of life for the residents of Allerdale. We also manage a range of grant funds that are available to support community groups to develop and deliver locally based community projects and initiatives. For further information visit our grants and funding page. 

Contact us

Community Development Team

General Enquires: 01900 706008

Area Support Manager

Lizzy Shaw
Tel: 01900 706013
Mobile: 07825 103575
lizzy.shaw@cumbria.gov.uk

Public Health Manager: 

Val Ayre 
Tel: 01900 706012
Mobile: 07769 614561 
Valerie.ayre@cumbria.gov.uk

Community Development Officers:

Hayley Bishop
-
Maryport
- Cockermouth
Tel: 01900 706009 / 07917534427
Hayley.bishop@cumbria.gov.uk

Michelle Jackson
- Workington
Tel: 01900 706189 / 07766 780824
michelle.jackson@cumbria.gov.uk

Sally Scales
- North East Allerdale
-North West Allerdale
-Keswick
Tel: 01900 706188 / 07795222766
sally.scales@cumbria.gov.uk

Community Development Assistant:

Carole Tubman 
Tel: 01900 7060008
carole.tubman@cumbria.gov.uk 

Allerdale Community Development Team
-2nd Floor Workington Library
-Vulcans Lane
-Workington
-Cumbria
-CA14 2ND
allerdaleteam@cumbria.gov.uk